



3200 Atlantic Avenue • Raleigh, NC 27604 • Phone: 919-814-4400

Fax: 919-814-5817

www.shpnc.org

PHARMACY AND THERAPEUTICS (P&T) COMMITTEE May 11, 2022

The meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee of the North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees (the Plan) was called to order at 6:35 P.M. (EST) on Wednesday, May 11, 2022, via webinar, accessible to the public through the Plan's website. Quorum was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ghassan Al-Sabbagh, MD, Gastroenterologist/ Hepatologist, Gastroenterology & Hepatology Consultants Jennifer Burch, PharmD, CDE, Owner, Central Compounding Center David Konanc, MD, Neurologist, Raleigh Neurology Associates Laura Rachal, MD, Pediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist, University of North Carolina Hospitals Peter Robie, MD, General Internist, Wake Forest Baptist Community Physicians Phil Seats, RPh, Retired Pharmacist

MEMBERS ABSENT:

John Anderson, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, Duke Primary Care Sundhar Ramalingam, MD, Oncologist, Duke Cancer Center Sheel Solomon, MD, Dermatologist, Preston Dermatology and Skin Surgery

PLAN & VENDOR STAFF:

Stephanie Craycroft-Andrews, PharmD, BCACP, Sr. Clinical Pharmacist, State Health Plan, Chairperson Caroline Smart, Sr. Director, Plan Integration, State Health Plan Dee Jones, Executive Director, State Health Plan Sonya Dunn, MPA, BSPH, RN, Sr. Pharmacy Benefits Program Manager, State Health Plan Renée Jarnigan, RPh, Clinical Advisor, CVS Health

Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Committee members and guests to the webinar and performed roll call.

Conflict of Interest Statement

In compliance with the requirements of Chapter 138A-15(e) of the State Government Ethics Act, the Chairperson read the Plan's Ethics Awareness & Conflict of Interest Reminder to the P&T Committee members and requested that members who have either an actual or perceived conflict of interest identify the conflict and refrain from discussion and voting in those matters as appropriate. No conflicts of interest were noted.

Old Business

The Chairperson asked the P&T Committee members to review the February 9, 2022, P&T Committee Meeting minutes, which were distributed prior to the meeting. There were no additions or corrections to the minutes, so they were approved as is.

The Chairperson asked the P&T Committee members to review the proposed updates to the Charter and By-laws, which were distributed prior to the meeting. The proposed updates had been presented at the





3200 Atlantic Avenue • Raleigh, NC 27604 • Phone: 919-814-4400 • Fax: 919-814-5817 • www.shpnc.org

previous meeting and revisions had been made based on feedback gathered during and following that meeting. There were no further additions or corrections to the minutes, so they were approved as is.

Formulary Updates

The Chairperson introduced CVS Caremark's Clinical Advisor Heather Renée Jarnigan, RPh, who would be presenting CVS Caremark's Quarterly Formulary Updates, effective July 1, 2022. This included additions to the formulary, utilization management criteria, drug removals, and tier movements.

Ms. Jarnigan along with Dr. Craycroft-Andrews identified seven new molecular entities that were being removed from CVS's New-to-Market block and would be available as covered products, along with utilization management policies that went along with the new products. The new molecular entities being added to the formulary are as follows: TAVNEOS CAP 10MG, PONVORY TAB 20MG, AKLIEF CREAM 0.005%, CAPLYTA, EYSUVIS DROPS 0.25%, QULIPTA TAB, and PHEXXI GEL.

Ms. Jarnigan then presented other proposed formulary additions, including formulary add-backs and line extensions. The medications being added to the formulary are as follows: cefazolin inj 2 GM, fenofibrate micro cap 30MG & 90MG, OZEMPIC INJ 8MG/3ML, TRIUMEQ PD TAB, EPINEPHRINE INJ 1MG/ML, KLOXXADO SPRAY, VASOSTRICT SOL, MAYZENT STARTER PAK & 1MG TAB, RINVOQ TAB 30MG ER & 45MG ER, TAKHZYRO INJ 300/2ML, PROFILNINE SD INJ (500, 1000, 1500 UNITS), ALPHANINE SD INJ (500, 1000, 1500 UNITS), AZSTARYS, JORNAY PM, ZEGALOGUE, and LUPRON DEPOT INJ 3.75MG & 11.25MG.

The Committee also approved proposed utilization management including SGM for TAVNEOS and PONVORY; Specialty QL for TAVNEOS; PA for AKLIEF CREAM, CAPLYTA, EYSUVIS; ST for QULIPTA, and QL for EYSUVIS and QULIPTA.

Ms. Jarnigan then explained that the Plan has a formulary exclusion exception process that is available to support Plan members who, per their provider, have a medical necessity to remain on an excluded drug. Ms. Jarnigan then reviewed the following products that will be excluded from the formulary starting on the effective date: AFINITOR, MEKINIST, TAFINLAR, JUXTAPID, PENTASA, MOVANTIK, DEXILANT/ dexlansoprazole, KEPPRA (TAB, SOL, INJ, XR), LAMICTAL (TAB, CHW, ODT, STARTER KITS, XR), QUILLICHEW ER, QUILLIVANT XR, GLUCAGEN INJ HYPOKIT, GLUCAGON EMERGENCY KIT, KORLYM, CITRANATAL VITAMINS, CAYSTON, and DUOBRII.

All products being removed have therapeutic alternatives or generic equivalents that are covered as preferred products on the Plan's custom formulary. There was no opposition from the Committee members, so these product exclusions were approved as presented.

Ms. Jarnigan then identified all the branded products that will have a change in tier from preferred to non-preferred. They included: VALIUM and DESOWEN. There was no opposition from the Committee members, so the formulary uptiers were approved as presented.

Ms. Jarnigan then identified all the branded products that will have a change in tier from non-preferred to preferred. They included: BRAFTOVI, COTELLIC, MEKTOVI, ZELBORAF, APTIOM, AURYXIA, TALICIA, and ENSTILAR. There was no opposition from the Committee members, so the formulary downtiers were approved as presented.





3200 Atlantic Avenue • Raleigh, NC 27604 • Phone: 919-814-4400 • Fax: 919-814-5817 • www.shpnc.org

Α	a	Ю	и	rr

The Chairperson addressed the Committee by thanking them for their service and informed them that the next meeting would be held on August 10, 2022 at 6:30 P.M. via webinar. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 7:35 P.M. (EST).

Stephanie Craycroft-Andrews, Chair