

PHARMACY AND THERAPEUTICS (P&T) COMMITTEE May 10, 2023

The meeting of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) Committee of the North Carolina State Health Plan for Teachers and State Employees (the Plan) was called to order at 6:32 P.M. (EST) on Wednesday, May 10, 2023, via webinar, accessible to the public through the Plan's website. Quorum was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Ghassan Al-Sabbagh, MD, Gastroenterologist/Hepatologist, Gastroenterology & Hepatology Consultants David Konanc, MD, Neurologist, Raleigh Neurology Associates
Laura Rachal, MD, Pediatric Infectious Diseases Specialist, University of North Carolina Hospitals
Peter Robie, MD, General Internist, Wake Forest Baptist Community Physicians
Phil Seats, RPh, Retired Pharmacist
Sheel Solomon, MD, Dermatologist, Preston Dermatology and Skin Surgery

MEMBERS ABSENT:

John Anderson, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Officer, Duke Primary Care Jennifer Burch, PharmD, CDE, Owner, Central Compounding Center Sundar Ramalingam, MD, Oncologist, Duke Cancer Center

PLAN & VENDOR STAFF:

Stephanie Craycroft-Andrews, PharmD, BCACP, Sr. Clinical Pharmacist, State Health Plan, Chairperson Jenny Vogel, PharmD, Sr. Clinical Pharmacist, State Health Plan Sam Watts, Interim Executive Director, State Health Plan Caroline Smart, Sr. Director, Plan Integration, State Health Plan Sonya Dunn, MPA, BSPH, RN, Sr. Pharmacy Benefits Program Manager, State Health Plan Renée Jarnigan, RPh, Clinical Advisor, CVS Health

Welcome

The Chairperson welcomed the Committee members and guests to the webinar and performed roll call.

Conflict of Interest Statement

The Chairperson requested that the P&T Committee members review the agenda, which was distributed prior to the meeting, and disclose any actual or potential conflicts of interest with any item on the agenda. No conflicts of interest were noted.

Old Business

The Chairperson asked the P&T Committee members to review the February 8, 2023 P&T Committee Meeting minutes, which were distributed prior to the meeting. There were no additions or corrections to the minutes, so they were approved as is.

Formulary Updates

Dr. Craycroft-Andrews presented a brief summary update on the COVID-19 Public Health Emergency ending on May 11, 2023.

Ms. Jarnigan presented CVS Caremark's Quarterly Formulary Updates, effective July 1, 2023. This included additions to the formulary, utilization management criteria, drug removals, and tier movements.

Ms. Jarnigan, Dr. Craycroft-Andrews, and Dr. Vogel identified three new molecular entities that were being removed from CVS's New-to-Market block and would be available as covered products, along with utilization

management policies that went along with the new products. The new molecular entities being added to the formulary are as follows: ORGOVYX, VONJO, and DAYBUE.

The Committee also approved proposed utilization management for the new entities including SGM and Specialty QL for ORGOVYX, VONJO and DAYBUE.

Ms. Jarnigan then presented other proposed formulary additions, including line extensions and formulary addbacks. The eight line extensions are as follows: AUSTEDO XR TAB, CEFAZOLIN SOL 2GM and 3GM, ERLEADA TAB 240MG, LUMAKRAS TAB 320MG, ORENITRAM TITRATION KITS, REBINYN INJ 3000UNIT, TAKHZYRO INJ 150MG/ML, and TEZSPIRE INJ 210MG. The six add-backs are as follows: ARANESP, bimatoprost ophthalmic solution, GENOTROPIN, PROCRIT, REPATHA, and ZEMAIRA.

There was no opposition from the Committee members, so the formulary additions, line extensions and formulary add-backs with any associated utilization management were approved as presented.

Ms. Jarnigan then explained the Smart Logic Utilization Management for Antidiabetic GLP-1, GIP-GLP-1 Agonist medications. The Smart Logic Utilization Management will allow claims indicating a diagnosis of diabetes to satisfy the criteria for coverage without the need to obtain a Prior Authorization for use of Adlyxin, Bydureon, Byetta, Ozempic, Rybelsus, Trulicity, Victoza, or Mounjaro.

There was no opposition from the Committee members, so the Smart Logic Utilization Management was approved as presented.

Ms. Jarnigan then explained that the Plan has a formulary exclusion exception process that is available to support Plan members who, per their provider, have a medical necessity to remain on an excluded drug. Ms. Jarnigan then reviewed the following twenty-seven products that will be excluded from the formulary starting on the effective date: lamotrigine ER (Camber Pharmaceuticals NDCs Only), sucralfate tab 1GM (Chartwell Rx NDCs only), brompheniramine/pseudoephedrine/dextromethorphan SYP 2-30-10 (Chartwell Rx NDCs only) (hyperinflation exclusion), VEMLIDY, FIRMAGON*, PRALUENT, DIACOMIT*, FINTEPLA*, AUBAGIO, JYNARQUE*, BETHKIS, KITABIS, LOVAZA, BANZEL, VIMPAT, LATUDA, DYANAVEL XR, JORNAY PM, MYDAYIS, RENVELA, LOKELMA, Multivitamins-ALL BRANDS, FLOVENT HFA, LUMIGAN, VYZULTA, RHOPRESSA, and ROCKLATAN. Prior use exemptions will be provided to members currently utilizing treatments indicate by an *, so these members will not need to change medications or go through the exceptions process to continue their current medication.

All products being removed have therapeutic alternatives or generic equivalents that are covered as preferred products on the Plan's custom formulary. There was no opposition from the Committee members, so these product exclusions were approved as presented. Committee members including Dr. Rachal did express interest in further information regarding the geographic and age demographics of FLOVENT utilizers, which was provided to the committee via email after the meeting.

Ms. Jarnigan then identified four branded products, ANDRODERM, BARACLUDE SOL, CAPLYTA, and PHOSLYRA SOL, which will have a change in tier from preferred to non-preferred. There was no opposition from the Committee member, so the formulary uptiers were approved as presented.

Adjourn

The Chairperson addressed the Committee by thanking them for their service and informed them that the next meeting would be held on August 9, 2023 at 6:30 P.M. via webinar. The meeting was adjourned at approximately 7:40 P.M. (EST)

Stephanie	Craycroft-Andrews,	Chair